none
How to number each occurrence of a substring in a cell in Power Query? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm fairly new to Power Query and have hit a hiccup that's been bothering me all day. I've read multiple threads here and on the Power BI community and none has really cleared my question, and my logic suggests a few different options to achieve what I want, but my lack of experience blocks any solution I attempt.

Context: I'm building a database for product import/export into WooCommerce, eBay and other channels; which takes some inputs by the (non tech savyy) users in Excel and develops several of the required fields. One of those is the image file names for each product.

I have this columns (in a much larger query table):

ImageBaseName ImageQTY ImageIDs
    product-name.jpg 3 product-name.jpg product-name.jpg product-name.jpg
    other-product.jpg 5 other-product.jpg other-product.jpg...other-product.jpg

And my desired output would be:

ImageBaseName ImageQTY ImageIDs
    product-name.jpg 3 product-name.jpg product-name.jpg product-name.jpg
    other-product.jpg 5 other-product-1.jpg other-product-2.jpg...other-product-5.jpg

In fact I don't need the two first columns if I get the ImageIDs like that. The ImageBaseName column is generated from the input product name. The ImageQTY column is direct input by the user. The ImageIDs column I got so far is from using:

= Table.AddColumn(#"previous step", "ImageIDs", each Text.Trim(Text.Repeat ([ImageBaseName]&" ", [ImageQty]))) 

And these are the options I've considered thus far:

Option 1: Text.Combine(Text.Split ImageIDs and (somehow) count and number each item in the list) and concatenate it all back... Which would probably start like this: Text.Combine(Text.Split,,,