get IPs and assigned computer name in domain. RRS feed

• Question

• Hopefully I am stating this correctly, I am novice with networking and powershell, but am learning.

I need to write a script that loops through an IP range and returns the computer names assigned to that IP.  We need a free IP for a SQL Server that we want to install.

This is all new to me...  so a 100 level explanation would be best.  I am a self taught SQL Server and BI developer and never really took a networking class, but I just realized this is a weakness and I am dedicated to learning.  The other area I want to learn is powershell and how I can use it for SQL DBA tasks and BI tasks.

Thanks,

Mike

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 3:33 PM

Answers

All replies

• You can't find a free IP that way.  One or more computers may be offline and you can get a bad IP.

Look at your DNS server to see which computers and IPs are in use.  Also remember that printers and other devices may be using IPs and may not be online when you test.  The DNS records are the easiest method.

You can easily export IPs and names from the DNS console to a CSV file or dump records as text using DNSCMD.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 3:49 PM
  • Forgot.

You can dump all records with PowerShell:

Get-DnsServerResourceRecord-ZoneName "contoso.com"

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 3:51 PM
  • so say our domain is abcd...   my login is abcd\mike.  Can I run this in powershell from my desktop?  when I ran

Get-DnsServerResourceRecord-ZoneName "abcd" I get big ugly red error.

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 4:04 PM
  • You need to run Get-DnsServerResourceRecord from the domain controller.

Another option:

Get-AdComputer -filter * -properties * | select name,ipv4address

### Get-AdComputer -filter * -properties * | select name,ipv4address | Export-Csv .\server_ip.csv -NoType

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 4:09 PM