Count Child Items for AD Computer Objects RRS feed

• Question

• I am a PowerShell novice interested in using PowerShell to identify computers lacking the BitLocker recovery key in AD.  I have seen a number of scripts that purport to have this capability, but most of them are rather lengthy--one over 200 lines--and as a novice I don't have the PowerShell skills to understand what those scripts are doing.  For obvious reasons, I am reluctant to run any script in my environment that I do not fully understand.  As for the scripts that are fairly short, I have not had much luck modifying them to my needs.

My first step was to develop a script that pulls a list of computer names from AD.  Unfortunately, that task is made more difficult by the fact that in my environment we have devices that are not computers (Printers, hand-held POS scanners, etc.) that are setup as computer objects, so the list of computers needs to be cleaned up.  I have a script that successfully pulls all the computer objects and filters out anything that is not an actual computer.

Now I just need to identify which of those machines are lacking the BitLocker recovery key.  In my research on the subject, I have learned that the BitLocker recovery key is stored as a child item of the computer object and that the object class is msFVE-RecoveryInformation.

So, if I can count the child items for each computer that are of the msFVE-RecoveryInformation object class, then the computers with no child items should be the machines that do not have the BitLocker recovery key backed up in AD.

I did find the following command, which works to display computer names and the corresponding recovery keys, but have not been able to modify to show only the machines missing the recovery key.

Get-AdObject -Filter "objectclass -eq 'msFVE-RecoveryInformation'" -Properties DistinguishedName, msFVE-RecoveryPassword, WhenCreated |