none
VHDX file size for Windows 7 Pro 32bit SP1

Question

• Dear forum,

I am a newbie in PC virtualization and ran across some possible issue when setting up a virtual 32bit Windows 7 inside a Windows 10 Pro 64bit host.

Everything ran well up to the point where the virtual machine installed updates (I believe it was 207 updates and hung at update number 63).  The issue is the VHDX file ran out of space (I assigned 100 GB for the Windows 7 SP1 installation). I assigned the virtual machine in a partition of 100GB and thought it was enough for the Win 7 32bit installation plus MS office 2003.

What is the typical VHDX file size for allocating a virtual Windows 7 OS inside a Win 10 host?

Looks like 100GB is far from being enough.

Thank you Forum!

Budana

Tuesday, February 28, 2017 5:17 PM

All replies

• 100 gig for Win7 x86 should be more than enough. When you logon to windows 7 and look at disk space usage what do you see? What was error reported? Were the errors reported on host or guest?

Regards, Dave Patrick ....
    Microsoft Certified Professional
    Microsoft MVP [Windows Server] Datacenter Management

Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees, and confers no rights.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017 5:46 PM
  • Hi Patrick,

The status went from "running" to "paused-critical".  The disk was almost full in this partition that I allocated for VMs and VHDXs .

No other errors that I notice except it stopped installing windows updates.

The thing is that I am sure it is because of critical disk space, but what configuration error did I do in creating this Win 7 VM to be at 100 gigs just halfway into installing its updates?

Thanks again!

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 12:10 AM
  • Btw.  This is my first setup of a VM. No other VMs or VHDXs are in this host, ergo the confusion of the very large file size.  I started with almost 3 gigs containing the Win 7 ISO in the same partition.  But even, 100GB - 3GB = 97GB is still ample space?