Abnormallly High Usage of RAM, but don't know why! RRS feed

• Question

• I'm going to start out with techs:  I've got a Toshiba satellite laptop A665-S5170 with 4 GB RAM, i3 2.53 Ghz processor, and I think 600 GB HD.  It's running Windows 7 64-bit.  I got the compy in April, after my old Toshiba laptop died an honorable death after a good 4 years of hard use. 

A few days ago, my compy started running slowly.  It didn't tell me that I needed to close any programs, but it kept freezing on programs that use a fair amount of RAM (like corel Videostudio or corel paintshop or WOW) and then not responding and then closing.  I knew it had to be the RAM and stuff going on in the background, so I found the resource monitor and that bar that shows the usage.  I looked at the processes and so forth, but I don't know what any of them are, which makes it difficult to find the cause of the massive memory usage.  I'm really a novice at this and anything I've learned, I've learned on my own.  This has me a bit stumped.  The bar refers to hardware memory, used memory, modified memory, standby memory & free memory (which is frequently a big, fat 0)

To give you an idea, as of this moment, I'm running windows explorer, the resource monitor, and I have two folders open.  The resource monitor shows the following: 

Hardware reserved 206 MB

Currently in use:  2546 MB

Modified:  39 MB

Standby:  1248 MB

Free:  9 MB

There is no sense in 2546 MB RAM being in use at this moment!!  And I don't know what's using it!  Nor do I understand why it just started a couple of days ago when I didn't put in any programs, updates, or anything.

I do have Vipre Antivirus Deluxe, and I know that runs, but I try to make sure nothing else starts without my permission.  Obviously I've missed something.