none
Printer deploy fails on new computers?

Question

• Hi,

I've been using Group Policy to deploy printers for a couple years now and generally speaking it's worked well.  I recently purchased a handful of new computers and am trying to roll them out to my users.  I've setup 5 computers in the last few days and they all get the same policies. 

Problem is, is that only one of the 8 or 10 printers in the policies is getting installed on these new computers.  All existing computers are working fine from what I can tell.

I checked GPResults /R and it reports that the policies are being applied.  I tried multiple reboots and even a few GPUpdate /Force commands.  Still no joy, as they say.

I thought I might have a time sync issue because of a warning in event viewer but I was able to get time to sync and that didn't help either.  Only related message I see in the event viewer is a warning about the Group Policy Client Side Extension Group Policy Drive Maps being unable to apply because changes must be processed before system startup or user logon.  But my drive maps are applying correctly.

Any thoughts as to what would cause this or any other troubleshooting steps I can take? 

Thanks in advance,

Linn

Oops, these are Windows 7 Pro 64-bit computers, BTW.  Same as all the computers in this OU.
    • Edited by lkubler Thursday, July 14, 2016 7:31 PM Added specifics about the desktops
    Thursday, July 14, 2016 6:09 PM

All replies

• Update KB3163912 made changes to the Windows Print Spooler and is causing us problems on Windows 10.

Maybe try uninstalling that update and see if you have any better luck?

EDIT:  Nevermind, wouldn't apply to Windows 7...

• Edited by dsuit Thursday, July 14, 2016 9:08 PM
    Thursday, July 14, 2016 8:58 PM
  • Hi Linn,

Thanks for your post.

I thought I might have a time sync issue because of a warning in event viewer but I was able to get time to sync and that didn't help either.