locked
Workflow History RRS feed

  • Question

  • Is it recommanded to delete workflow history from each site after a period like 2 months or so. I know that workflow auto cleanup job removes the associations of the workflow after 60 days, but the history stays there in the list.

    we are in the process of migration to sharepoint 2010 from MOSS and wanting to know the recommanded practice on migrating this workflow history list.

    Appreciate any suggestions,


    rani

    Tuesday, May 22, 2012 7:01 PM

Answers

  • Hi,

    It is always recommended that you clean up workflow history list in every 60 days. It is very important to do so. Since leaving it will keep on populating the data into it and it will become the large list and will significantly affect your performance.

    I hope this will help you out.


    Thanks, Rahul Rashu

    • Marked as answer by RaniSK Thursday, May 24, 2012 1:47 PM
    Wednesday, May 23, 2012 2:19 AM

All replies

  • Hi,

    It is always recommended that you clean up workflow history list in every 60 days. It is very important to do so. Since leaving it will keep on populating the data into it and it will become the large list and will significantly affect your performance.

    I hope this will help you out.


    Thanks, Rahul Rashu

    • Marked as answer by RaniSK Thursday, May 24, 2012 1:47 PM
    Wednesday, May 23, 2012 2:19 AM
  • Hi,

    Go to the timer job definition to disable this workflow auto clean job and enable it later. If this doesn’t work then run following stsadm command

    stsadm –o set property –pn job-workflow-autoclean –pv “daily at 15:00:00 -url <URL>

    It specifies the time schedule for when a scan occurs to delete workflow instance data and workflow task items that have been in a completed state for longer than an amount of time specified on the workflow template. But it is global which means that it will run for all the workflows.

    This will give you a better control over the Auto Cleanup job, since you can set how often it should be run. Please check that whether those expired records are deleted after you run this command.
     

    For more information, please refer to:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc424968.aspx


    Warm Regards, Pratik Vyas | SharePoint Consultant | http://sharepointpratik.blogspot.com/ | Posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights

    Wednesday, May 23, 2012 2:25 AM