none
DirectAccess SSL certificate renewal assistance RRS feed

• Question

• I've recently inherited a DirectAccess implementation in a new site that I have no idea about, other than the ssl certificate is going to expire in a few weeks.

I am working on getting a certificate renewal from the authority (Comodo) however I have absolutely no idea what I am supposed to do with the new cert. Could anyone give some advice on where/how do I apply the renewed cert?

I've never worked with DA before, so no idea about best practice, how to setup or anything, so a few pointers on where to go and what to click would be really helpful!

Do I need to do anything on the clients/GPOs?

Thanks!

Sunday, July 24, 2016 4:01 PM

All replies

• Hi,

You just need to install the new certificate in the server's Personal store then replace the old certificate by the new certificate in the Remote Access Setup console (Step 2 -> Network Adapters).
    There's nothing to do for the clients because they will just connect as usual then check if the new certificate is valid.

Gerald 

Monday, July 25, 2016 9:04 AM
  • Is this something I could do remotely via DirectAccess or would the connection be severed as soon as I replaced the cert?

Also, when renewing the cert, is there any way for me to check all of the details of the current cert to ensure they match?

Monday, July 25, 2016 10:38 AM
  • I never tried to replace the public certificate remotely ^^

I suggest you to do that outside working hours to mitigate the problems if you can't be onsite or use another way to connect to your console.

For the certificate, you can check all the details when opening it from the Certificates console.
    (Start mmc.exe -> Add Certificates Snap-In for Computer Account then open the Personal folder to check your certificate)

Important thing for this certificate is that his subjet MUST match the Internet name used by your clients to connect to DirectAccess.

Gerald

Monday, July 25, 2016 11:56 AM