none
MS Proj 2010 - Removing a task from the critical path as it is more of a placeeholder RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

Sorry I can't seem to find an answer on this, but I am not exactly sure what to search for as I am quite new to MS Project

I am having difficulty getting Project to show my critical path as I have one task that is the longest, but not necessarily part of the project. essentially this task is ore of a placeholder - it may be done within the project, or it maybe done as part of BAU (business as usual). So I don't want to remove it, as it needs to be seen as an outstanding item, but it effectively stops the tasks that finish before it being shown as the critical path. Also it can't be scheduled after these other tasks as they are to be performed by different teams.

Can I make it a placeholder of some type, so it still gets scheduled and moves with the project timeline, but won't mask what I think is the true critical path?

So I guess in some ways it is almost like having multiple critical paths, but when I ticked that option, it basically highlighted 90% of the tasks, which seemed more confusing.

Just wondering if there is another option?

thanks

Monday, April 15, 2013 2:51 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Reduce duration of the placeholder task in such a way it  no longer finishes after the criticl path.

Greetings,

Monday, April 15, 2013 7:44 AM