ie8 on windows 7 "connecting..." RRS feed

• Question

• When opening a desktop shortcut to a website on my Windows 7 PC running IE8, Internet Explorer opens as expected, but stays at "Connecting..." without going any farther.  If I copy/paste the URL into the address box, it works like a champ.

At the company I work for as an IS engineer, I've had three computers with Windows 7 and all three have had the exact same problem occur.   I've reset everything to default, cleared the cache, and run without add-ons, but the links never come up.   I tried Firefox and it worked as expected, but we have SharePoint, so IE is pretty much required.

I downloaded and installed Fiddler so I could capture my HTTP traffic within a log.   Every TCP port 80 connection appears immediately when I'm logging my sessions, whether those connections are from IE, Firefox, Outlook, or any other app.   When I double-click my desktop shortcut, IE opens, but there are NO HTTP requests logged within the log.   This indicates that there is some bug in IE8 that is keeping this from actually attempting any connection whatsoever.

Does anyone have a solution for this?   I've seen it posted on a ton of forums, with the same basic answers that I've tried.   Within the next year, I intend to roll out about 300 Windows 7 desktops, but I simply cannot without this being fixed.

Thanks!

Thursday, August 5, 2010 3:56 PM

Answers

• This issue occurs if IE is not the default browser. Firefox will automatically change your default browser settings. I suggest you manually set IE to be the default browser. Then please confirm if the issue still occurs. If it does not work, I suggest you temporary remove Firefox as a test. Please check if the issue occurs after removing Firefox.

If the issue persists after you remove Firefox, I suggest you reset IE settings.

1. Click Start, please type “inetcpl.cpl” (without quotation marks) in the Start Search bar and press Enter to open the Internet options window.