none
Customizing the My Tasks screen in Project Web App, Project Server 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• While I’m quite familiar with Microsoft Project (have done extensive macro/VBA work in it), I’m new to Project Server 2010.  I would like to customize/simplify the My Tasks screen (in PWA) to show a team member (for each assigned task) only two fields: Remaining Work and Actual Start.  A progress update would consist of setting an Actual Start date (once, when work commences) and changing Remaining Work to reflect the team member’s best estimate as to how much more time is needed (as of the progress update) to complete the task.  Setting Remaining Work to 0 would mark the task as complete (which happens automatically in Project, at least).

Ideally, a third field (say Start1) would automatically be filled in with the date the team member saved his progress update (I plan on using Actual Start and Start1 as the start/end dates for the Progress bar style as an indicator of the task’s most recent update date).

Is such a drastic customization possible in Project Server, and, if so, what tools or approaches are available to do something like this?

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 4:47 PM

Answers

• Al --

I think you are going to run into some real problems with your method of tracking.  Using the Actual Start date and Remaining Work is NOT enough information.  Your team members MUST enter some form of actual progress, whether it be a % Work Complete value or an Actual Work value.  Your assumption is that the user can simply adjust the Remaining Work and the system will calculate how much Actual Work the team member has done, and that is NOT how the system works.  If you experiment with this, I believe you will see I am correct.  So, although I appreciate your desire for simplicity, I would recommend you track progress using these following four fields:

• Actual Start
    • % Work Complete (or Actual Work)
    • Remaining Work
    • Actual Finish