Steady State and Domain Workstation Accounts RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

Here's my situation. I work in a school district and currently we have 500+ laptops in the high school. They're on a domain and group policy handles most of the security issues. Unfortunately normal users are allowed to delete the wireless ssid's from wireless network properties. This is a tremendous hole. Entire labs of laptops are routinely disabled by student vandals for fun. I've hidden the wireless icon and entire notification area in an attempt to fight them. This is not ideal, since wireless signal is then no longer visible in the tray. Even then, they still found a way to disable the wireless.

I would like to enable WDP to effectively freeze the machines in a known good state. However i need a way to make sure they do not fall off the domain when the time comes for workstation domain passwords to be changed. We have no time for regular windows updates, and the machines are powered off and locked up at night. We rarely have time to update windows except in the summer.

Is there a way for me to use WDP and somehow keep the workstation passwords up to date, without worrying about windows updates? If not, i would like to make a feature request for Steady State to be able to make WDP work without hosing domain membership.

thanks
    Friday, January 18, 2008 7:30 PM

Answers

• Hi Bikester,

Thank you for posting here!

Based on my experience, if you have WDP enabled and configure to "Remove all changes at restart", no changes will be saved except Schedule Software Updates. Under this situation, we can only update the computer password through Schedule Software Updates. Another method is manually configure WDP to save changes. WDP then automatically initiates a password change every time disk changes are saved.