Feedback on my code RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello,

Basically I'm asking for feedback on my code:

I'm just getting into powershell and currently working on fetching some AD results. I got this piece of code producing expected result, but as a newbie I'm wondering if this is the proper way to script or is there a better way to get the result?

What I want to achive is to return (name, givenname, surname, True/False) for a list of users in an AD group

$Group = Get-ADGroup -Identity "Group"
    $users = @(
    	'user1',
    	'user2',
    	'user3',
    	'user4',
    	'user5')
    ForEach ($user In $users){
    	$ADUser = Get-ADUser -Identity $user -Properties *
    	if($ADUser.MemberOf -contains $Group.DistinguishedName) {
    		$ADUser | Select-Object name, givenname, surname, @{l="Result";e={"True"}}
    	} else {
    		$ADUser | Select-Object name, givenname, surname, @{l="Result";e={"False"}}
       }
    }

• Changed type jrv Thursday, March 29, 2018 9:57 AM not a question
    Thursday, March 29, 2018 6:58 AM

All replies

• Very good. You are on the right track.  Keep doing what you are doing.

\_(ツ)_/

Thursday, March 29, 2018 7:09 AM
  • Hi plheaugusto,

Welcome to the Technet forums!

I have test your script and the results are positive, the information you want to achieve is properly visible. I am wondering in wich context you wanne use this script.

Are you want to query the name, givenname, surname only from specific users in a group? If you want to have the information of all users in a group, you need to do a small modification to your script.

$users = Get-ADGroupMember -Identity "Group"
    	} else {
       }
    }

Furthermore, your script for a beginner in Powershell looks good.

Sincerely, Martien van Dijk. Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. Check out My Blog!

Thursday, March 29, 2018 7:09 AM
  • Hi plheaugusto,

Welcome to the Technet forums!