Customizing Service Manager Roles RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to System Center Service Manager.  I was instructed not to use the delivered roles, but rather, create our own custom roles from the given templates.  So I've created a role for my "incident resolvers" and purposefully selected the views, tasks, forms, etc. that I think are appropriate for their role.  I was mostly successful, however, I can not seem to get the "Link to Problem" task to work.  I receive a permissions errror.  Does anyone know the task name and associated management pack that will grant access to this task? 
    Thursday, September 27, 2012 6:08 PM

Answers

• Creating custom user roles that are very restrictive (and very close to the individual requirements) can be a hard work. This can be even more painful if the requirements are changing after a while for some reason. 

Most of the time our customers are fine with using the default user roles.

Andreas Baumgarten | H&D International Group

Thursday, September 27, 2012 9:13 PM

All replies

• Management Pack is "Service Manager Problem Management Library".

Tasks related to the "Service Manager Problem Management Library":

• Link Problem
    • Close
    • Reactivate
    • Resolve
    • Create Problem
    • Change Status
    • Properties

Hope this helps.

Thursday, September 27, 2012 7:17 PM
  • Thanks Andreas.  Unfortunately, I have all of those tasks selected from that management pack and I'm still getting the error.  Do you have any other suggestions?

Angie Herring

Thursday, September 27, 2012 7:24 PM
  • Which tasks you selected for Incident Management?

Thursday, September 27, 2012 7:53 PM
  • I have the option to chose from 27 tasks in the Service Manager Incident Management Library mp.  All are selected except one, "Properties - Configure System Center Configuration Manager Desired Configuration Management Incident workflows." 

Angie Herring

Thursday, September 27, 2012 8:03 PM