Offline Files: Win 7 client - Encrypt files only went halfway, now neither? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all.  I was just doing some testing with this Offline Files feature.  This is my first time testing some of the additional management options for it.  Client is Win 7 Pro (64bit), server is 2008 R2 and AD is a basic single-server type design (a few VMs) at 2008 R2 functional level. 

The process seemed simple - a brand new compuer, by default all redirected folders enable Offline Files.  I also picked one network share (the user's home folder on the server, not much space usage). 

The issue, and this post, is about the Encryption tab (under Sync Cener > Manage Offline Files).  I can't recall offhand if I had finished the First-time sync or not, but at some point I clicked the Encrypt Files button.  This seemed to progress for a while, until it popped up a message saying a particular file was already in use by another user.  At this point, it dropped out of the encrypting files progress screen. 

Now I had the button changed from Encrypt Files to Encrypt Remaining Files.  I took this to mean it would simply resume where it left off once clicked.  Instead, I click it and nothing happens, no progress screen.  I rebooted, camne back into Sync Center, and it showed a status of Ready for first-time sync.  Unsure of why since it had previously said "last sync on date/time", I still went to the Encryption tab. 

Long story short, when I first entered this Encryption tab, only hte Encrypt button was available, the Unencrypt button was greyed out.  Now when I go in, each tmie, after some reboots, it's always both but they alternate, one saying encrypt or unencrypt remaining files.  S it's like it i scaught halfway between fully encrypted or not encrypted at all.