Visual Studio 2013 fails to connect to .mdf file RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

This is my 1st post and I'm new to development.  I'm attempting to connect to a database file through visual studio 2013 Ultimate.  The .mdf file is located on my local drive inside the App_Data folder of the project.  However when I try to connect to the file it fails and throws an error message (see below).   Can anyone help me out?

“The attempt to attach to the database failed with the following information: A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 50 - Local Database Runtime error occurred. The specified LocalDB instance does not exist.”

Thanks in advance,

Ben

• Moved by Jiayi Li Wednesday, October 21, 2015 6:39 AM
    Tuesday, October 20, 2015 3:21 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi B. Gray,

This forum is discuss Visual Studio WPF/SL Designer, Visual Studio Guidance Automation Toolkit, Developer Documentation and Help System, and Visual Studio Editor.

Your issue would be related to SQL server, I help you move this case to                 
    SQL Server Express forum for dedicated support.

Thank you for your understanding.

Best Regards,

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.

Click HERE to participate the survey.

Wednesday, October 21, 2015 6:37 AM
  • Hi Ben,

The above error message indicates that it cannot find LocalDB on your computer. Firstly, please make sure that you have installed SQL Server Express LocalDB on your machine.