Saving PowerShell Window, to execute when needed RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello Experts, 

I am new to PowerShell.
    I open PowerShell from Computer and Type  command Like Copy-item C:\Test1 C:\Test2 -recurse

On PowerShell window ,it looks like below 
    PS C:\Windows> copy-item c:\myfolder c:\myfolder2  -recurse

This works fine and folders are copied , 

but how can I save this as .PS1 on my Desktop , so that I can run this when needed by just clicking on it 
    (or Right click on that .PS1 file and Run as PowerShell and Copy command should work) ?

My Efforts

I opened Notepad or Notepad++ 
    Copy the content 
    in Notepad and saved it as myCopy.PS1 but when I right click and Execute it, it open Powershell window for less than a sec which has some error(which I cannot see in such a sort span of time) and NO folder get copied 

• Edited by Rihan8585 Tuesday, July 18, 2017 7:56 AM Edit
    Tuesday, July 18, 2017 7:50 AM

All replies

• The recommended editor for Powershell scripts is the Powershell_ISE. It has syntax highlithing and many other helpful features.

Grüße - Best regards

PS:> (79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 7:58 AM
  • What's the actual question? How to edit or how to run Powershell scripts?

By default it is not possible to run Powershell scripts with a double click. If you have a "standard" Windows you could right click and select "Execute with Powershell". 

If you want to run it with a double click you could use a cmd file to launch or you create a shortcut what includes the Powershell.exe in the command line like this:

Powershell.exe -ep bypass -file "you script here.ps1"

Grüße - Best regards

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 8:05 AM
  • By default it is not possible to run Powershell scripts with a double click. If you have a "standard" Windows you could right click and select "Execute with Powershell". 

This is what I am looking for , to run the .PS1 file ,but the question is ,