none
Return a column's value after merge 2 table RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I'm kinda new to Power Query & i need some help on handle a null value after merge 2 table. i can easily done this in excel by Vlookup

ex: =VLOOKUP([@[Final Agents]],Table12,2,0),[@[Final Agents]])

This formular will return a value in Table12, if it does not find the match in Table12, it will return the look up value (in this case it is a value in column [Final Agents]

The issue here is in Power Query,if it does not find the match in Table12, it returns a null value while i want it return a value in column [Final Agents].

Can anyone give me any advise. 

Thursday, January 23, 2020 3:01 PM

Answers

• So you don't have to wait tomorrow...

You provided a workbook with Tables "linked" to OneDrive so I had to do a copy/paste of the values to create Table1 and Table2, so before saying something like "this doesn't work", make sure you make the appropriate replacements below:

let
        Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
        ChangedTypes = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Index", Int64.Type}, {"Consignee Name", type text}}),
        JoinedTable2 = Table.NestedJoin(ChangedTypes,"Consignee Name", Table2,"Consignee", "Table2", JoinKind.LeftOuter),
        AddedCneeGroup = Table.AddColumn(JoinedTable2, "Cnee Group", each
            if Table.IsEmpty([Table2]) then [Consignee Name] else Table.First(Table2)[Cnee Group], type text
        ),
        RemovedTable2 = Table.RemoveColumns(AddedCneeGroup,{"Table2"})
    in
        RemovedTable2

Thursday, January 23, 2020 5:39 PM

All replies

• ex: =VLOOKUP([@[Final Agents]],Table12,2,0),[@[Final Agents]])

This formular will return a value in Table12, if it does not find the match in Table12, it will return the look up value (in this case it is a value in column [Final Agents] 

Hi