UAG Licensing RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am aware that no official UAG licensing has been released...however I will assume a similar model to IAG - and ask my question:

We are deploying 2 UAG servers (array). Behind those servers will be 1) Public Websites published via UAG and 2) External Suppliers AD Forest in the DMZ and various Sharepoint and other applications published via UAG.

In my, limited license, opinion...I would need the following:
    - 2 x UAG Server License
    - 2 x External Connector License (1 per server)

If, at a later stage I would like to use UAG and publish another Portal for our internal staff, with user accounts on a separate AD Internal Forest, can they also connect through the UAG EC License?

Kind regards,
    TZ
    • Edited by D Wind Monday, November 30, 2009 3:16 PM
    Monday, November 30, 2009 2:22 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Amigo. I am not an expert regarding licensing questions, but as far as I know, for the internal users you will need to adcquire CALs (one for each user accesing the portal. Not concurrent users). The external connector is reserved for users outside your control, like a commercial or public website protected by IAG.

Regards
    // Raúl - I love this game
    Monday, November 30, 2009 2:40 PM
  • That's correct, Internal users ('Employees') are not covered under the EC.  Each employee must have a CAL if they wish to access services through UAG.
    Monday, November 30, 2009 5:28 PM
  • OK, so essentially what you are saying is that the EC license must be there IF I am exposing public/anonymous data via the UAG/IAG device?

The moment I have AD forests (one for internal staff & another one for external suppliers) I will need to purchase UAG User or Device CALs?

Monday, November 30, 2009 6:56 PM
  • Under normal circumstances (and by normal, I mean most things but MOSS), Microsoft only requires CALs/ECs for non-Employees if they are authenticated.  Anonymous users do not need licenses.