How to Upgrade from SQL Server 2008 Trial Version to License Version RRS feed

• Question

• I am an SQL Sever newbie. I started with the SQL Server 2008 trial version. I have just obtained the license for the full version and wish to apply it. Do I have to reinstall? Or can I simply upgrade the trial version? How do I do this?
    Monday, January 23, 2012 10:53 AM

Answers

• Hi Crashcup,

The trial version can be upgraded to a full version once you have a key. It is actually very easy and can be done through the GUI or through command prompt.

This is covered in the Licensing FAQ on the SQL Server website:
    Q.  How easy is it to migrate from a trial version of SQL Server 2008 to the final purchased product?
    A.  You can upgrade an instance of SQL Server 2008 Evaluation Edition to other editions of SQL Server 2008 without uninstalling Evaluation Edition. For details, see SQL Server 2008 Version and Edition Upgrades.

If you are a GUI person just launch the SQL Server setup and go to the “Maintenance Tab”, you will see the “Edition Upgrade” option there. Follow a couple of steps in the wizard, provide the key and you are all set.

Regards, Amber zhang
    • Marked as answer by amber zhang Monday, January 30, 2012 7:13 AM
    Wednesday, January 25, 2012 1:48 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You need to complete an upgrade install however it should retain all your configuration and data. You should back up everything first though just in case.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc707783.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms143393.aspx

Sean Massey | Consultant, iUNITE

Feel free to contact me through My Blog or Twitter.
    Please click the Mark as Answer button if a post solves your problem!

Monday, January 23, 2012 11:00 AM
  • Many thanks
    Monday, January 23, 2012 3:06 PM
  • No problem. Please click the Mark as Answer button for the post if it answered your question. Thanks.

Sean Massey | Consultant, iUNITE