none
Child Domain RRS feed

• Question

• Hello I need your help.
    I am new with the dns and active directory. I am currently working in a Retail Company. This company has 50 or more stores with different locations and their current setup now is every store has a DNS and Active Directory. But the owner wants to change that because of license issues. We have 4 areas here and every area has 8-10 stores or sites. My plan is to have a child domain per area for example, my main domain is example.local then i will create a child domain like area1.example.local , area2.example.local

is this a good setup for our situation? and what are the advantages of having a child domain? Thank you so much^_^

Friday, August 19, 2016 7:20 AM

Answers

• Hi Jared,

That really depends on the following:

• requirements - why have they deployed 50 Domains?
    • Size of the domain partition.
    • Functional Level of the Domain and Forest. (Which OS runs on Domain Controllers)
    • Network Connection and Topology, also ask yourself how reliable your connections are.
    • What kind of clients, servers and applications do you have?

Example 1:

• Reliable Network Connections in a Hub & Spoke Topology with Site2Site VPN
    • No Applications and Servers in each store (central Servers and Applications)
    • ~ 20 Client computers running at least Windows Vista
    • Unless you are not running Server 2003 I'd go for a Single-Forest / Single-Domain with a central DC Deployment and ADDS integrated DNS.

Example 2:

• Non reliable Network Connections and no persistent connections to HQ with very, very small bandwith.
    • Servers and Applications are located in the Branches and on the HQ Site
    • ~ 100 and more Clients in each Branch
    • If there is no connection to the HQ and other stores, all local Services must be available.