none
How to show resource usage by Position RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Microsoft Project and have some very simple (i think) tasks to carry out but i am having trouble figuring out how to get it done.

I have a number of tasks that need to be completed and they are already scheduled.

I have assigned some resources to them already, but only equipment. i.e. Machine #1, Machine #2 etc.. and some personnel.

What i needed to do is put in the names of all of our personnel  into the project file so that i can assign each of them to one of the tasks.

I have been able to accomplish this but the last thing i need to do is organize it by the position of the personnel i am assigning so that we can see graphically when we are going to be over-allocating a certain position. For example if i have 3 mechanics, i want to be able to assign them to tasks by name but then see when the position "Mechanic" is over-allocated. 

I'm sure there's functionality built into MS Project to handle this but i do not know what it is.

Thanks!

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 2:41 PM

Answers

• KH1989,

There is no real advantage populating the Resource Group field the same as the Name field on the Resource Sheet. The Group field is only really useful if you have defined individual resources (e.g. Joe, Bill, Tom, etc.) and they are part of a particular group (e.g. plumbers) and you want to be able to filter or sort on all resources in the that group. However, it does not allow you to assign the plumber group to any task and even though you can use Project's grouping feature (View > Data group > Group by) to isolate parameters of that group, it will not show you if that "group" is overallocated.