none
Facebook Prophet for R RRS feed

• Question

• Does anyone (or Microsoft) know if Microsoft's R Server can run Facebook's Prophet that they recently open sourced for R? 

If so, does anyone have a guide on how to set it up so that it works both locally and remotely in SQL?

I am new to R and just starting out, using the visual studio R Tools...

Thanks,

Jim

Thursday, May 18, 2017 4:39 PM

All replies

• Hi Jim!

Yes you can! There are a couple of caveats though:

• Prophet requires R 3.2.3 or above, SQL Server 2016 R Services runs on 3.2.2, so you either need to upgrade the R version, or run SQL Server 2017. That is of course if you want to run it inside SQL Server. If you have a fairly recent Microsoft R Server, you should be good.
    • You need to install Prophet from the CRAN repo - for some reason the Prophet package from MS repo is not working properly.
    • When running Prophet inside SQL Server, dates seem to be handled incorrectly (or at least output incorrectly).

I have a blog-post about it with code etc., at: http://www.nielsberglund.com/2017/05/20/facebook-prophet-and-microsoft-r-server/

Niels

http://www.nielsberglund.com | @nielsberglund

• Proposed as answer by nielsbMVP Sunday, May 21, 2017 6:28 PM
    Saturday, May 20, 2017 10:04 AM
  • Hi Niels,

Excellent blog post. I was able to get everything running both in my visual studio tools for R, as well as from SQL Manager, running the commands, and everything works just like your article describes.

I had SQL Server 2016 Standard edition SP1, and was able to update everything following along.

Obviously, I am waiting to hear what you find out about the date issue, and data discrepancies when running within SQL Services.

I also had a follow up question, if I want to use this data, in real time, from a c# or web client, how would I return the plots so that they can be returned from a stored procedure as well?  Any ideas?

Again.. excellent post!

Thanks for all the information so far!

Jim