none
mothly payment rate and 24 hour calendar for resource work cost RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All.

I prepare a several-year H2020 EU project with multiple partners and personnel. That type of project is quite a sketch, not very detailed. I assigned a student as a resource with a monthly salary (€XXXX/mo) and 24-hour calendar, prorated work. The project is 4 years, so to get it calculating reasonable durations, I had to change the month to 22 workdays. 

When I assign work to a student for 1 year it assigns about 49 months value of work. Only a little change, if I assign Standard calendar and €YY/h rate. I do not want to kill a student, nor work for him over time but wanted to have for him 12 monthly salaries for the job. I opened a Resource Sheet and added a Cost column and there appears a total cost which is too high. I am new to Project, I use version 1908 of Professional. 

Any help is appreciated. 

Regards 

Marcin B

mbalcerzyk

Monday, September 2, 2019 11:08 AM

All replies

• mbalcerzyk,

Welcome to Project. As you have found it is not a particularly user-friendly application.

A couple of things to note.

First is understanding Project's working time calendar. You mention that you use the 24h calendar, yet this in not how the student will normally work, I assume. I suggest you use the Standard calendar, or a copy of it customized for your particular working times and appropriate holidays.

Second, even though you set a resource's rate as €XXX/mo, internally Project stores all time related data in minutes, €YY/min. Using the Standard calendar (8-5), there are 124,800 working minutes a year or 10,400 minutes/month. So one way to translate the student's monthly rate is to divide the monthly salary by 10,400 and then set the Standard Rate as €YYY/min.