none
Microsoft R Open and Xeon Phi coprocessor and Windows RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, 
    This is likely a dumb question, but I am not a programmer. 

I have gone through the process of purchasing and installing a Intel Xeon Phi coprocessor in my PC. I have gone through all the installation without any serious difficulties, and get to the point where it is online (status: mic0 online). So everything there seems to be good.

Microsoft R Open does not seem to want to offload onto the Xeon Phi automatically. So I am essentially about halfway down this blog:
    http://blog.revolutionanalytics.com/2015/05/behold-the-power-of-parallel.html
    where I am supposed to set some Environment Variables. (I think and hope.)

Question(s):
    Are the Environment Variables set on the Windows system? I.e. Windows+break --> Environment Variables (Is this right?)
    Are the Environment Variables set in R, somehow?
    Are the Environment Variables inserted into the R Open code and recompiled?

Thank you for your time and patience,

Charles

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 2:06 PM

Answers

• Environment variables should be set in Windows (Control Panel>System and Security>System-->Advanced system settings -->Environment variables; your keyboard shortcut is probably bringing up the same dialog). Environment variables can be set within R using the Sys.setenv() function, but this usage applies only to the current R session. For consistent use of your Xeon Phi, you'll want to set them in Windows.

Hope this helps!

Rich Calaway

Microsoft R Release Manager

Monday, October 24, 2016 11:55 PM

All replies