none
Hyper-V Error 0x80070050 Virtual Hard Disk already exists. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm new to this form and virtualization. I was able to create a Virtual computer with Hyper-V but ended up deleting it due to an error I couldn't resolve during the OS installation process. When I try to create a new virtual computer with the same name I get an error saying "The system failed to create a virtual hard disk (hard disk path and name .vhdx) the file already exists 0x80070050" I can not find that file anywhere to remove it even though I already deleted the virtual computer. Anyone ideas on how to fix this, I don't want to always have to make new unique names if I delete one to make a new one. I'm using this server to learn on and I will most likely be doing a lot of deleting and creations.

Thank you,

James

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 6:12 PM

All replies

• James,

Most likely under "c:\ProgramData\..." which is a hidden folder by default on your system. Look around under this directory - "c:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Hyper-V" or something similar.

BTW - You can configure Hyper-V to tell it where to store the VHDs.

Regards,

-Steve

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 6:48 PM
  • Hi Steve,

Thank you for the response. I did look there but there is no .vhdx file in any of the folders. Any other idea's on what could be causing this?

Thank you,

James

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 9:23 PM
  • Have you changed the default folder path where you store the virtual machine config files and VHD disk files? Check your hyper-v settings to see where your paths are located.

Pete

• Edited by leopete Tuesday, January 6, 2015 9:39 PM
    Tuesday, January 6, 2015 9:36 PM
  • James,

If you open Hyper-V Manager you can select 'Action --> Hyper-V Settings'. The first 2 options determine where your Hard Disks files and VMs get stored. Check where that location is and see if it contains your old vhdx file.

-Steve 

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 9:38 PM
  • Steve,