none
Help - isNumeric, isEmpty var return RRS feed

• Question

• I am no VBScript expert in anyway and I am trying to take a vale from a MySQL DB field that is a semicolon delimited list of varying strings and use it for calculation.  Here is the variable assignment: 

dim profile
    profile  = split(rec("profile").value & ";;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;", ";")
    for i = 0 to 19
      if profile(i)  = "" then recTpl.removeBlock "Profile" & (i+1)
      recTpl.assignVariable "Profile"  & (i+ 1), profile(i)
    next

I am then trying to take the 19th variable (Profile19) which contains either a numeric value or is empty and use it for calculation, however, no matter what type of function I use to test the contents, I am left with a default value of one as this is to catch the instances where this variable is empty.  Can anyone assist/explain why the value is not coming through?  I have gone through this with a bunch of other programmers but none of us are VBScript experts....   Thank you!!!!!

if Not isEmpty(Profile19) then 
      if isNumeric(Profile19) then
        ASSIGN THE VARIABLE I AM TRYING TO PERFORM CALC
      else if Not isNmeric(Profile19) then
        VAR = CInt(Profile19) 
      end if 
    else if isEmpty(Profile19) then 
      ASSIGN THE VARIABLE I AM TRYING TO PERFORM CALC = 1 
    end if 

Monday, October 6, 2014 3:15 PM

Answers

• There is no way we can guess at what you are trying to do.  If you can't post an example that illustrates the problem then we cannot be of any help.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Monday, October 6, 2014 6:47 PM

All replies

• What's in rec? What's rec("profile")? What's in recTpl? What does recTpl.removeBlock do? What does recTpl.assignVariable do? What does "19th variable" mean?

Sorry, but there is not nearly enough information in your question to provide a guess as to the problem.

Usually, numbered variables are a sign that an array should be used.