Notification based on Assigned To on Incident creation RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm trying to figure out how to set up a notification that would:

1) Send an e-mail when an Incident is raised by a "regular user"

2) Not send an e-mail when an Incident is raised by an IT staff member using the console

As of now, I have a subscription that sends the a-mail in both cases.

When we, the IT guys, create a ticket, we automatically assign ourselves to it, so I thought that this is where I should turn to.

My original subscription for a new Incident e-mail had just one criteria: Support Group equals MYIT

I modified it to look like:

Support Group equals MYIT

AND

Assigned To User [Domain User or Group] User Name is empty

I was hoping that this will launch the subscription only in scenario 1, however it ended in the subscription not launching at all.

Does anyone have any ideas how to solve this problem?

Kind regards,

Wojciech

Wednesday, April 27, 2016 1:55 PM

Answers

• Beside the "Support Group/Assigned To User" as a criteria there might be another option for your notification:

You mentioned IT staff is creating the Incident in the SCSM console, end users are creating incident by portal or mail?

If so you can use the Source as criteria for your notification:

If Source is not equal "Console" = send notification

Hope this helps.

Andreas Baumgarten | H&D International Group

• Proposed as answer by Marcel Zehner Friday, April 29, 2016 7:54 AM
    • Marked as answer by rozanw Monday, May 2, 2016 9:53 AM
    Friday, April 29, 2016 6:24 AM

All replies

• Hello,

From my understanding, the subscription you create should be launched when you have incidents meet the following conditions:

Support Group equals MYIT

AND

Assigned To User [Domain User or Group] User Name is empty

You may check whether you have such incidents.

If there is any misunderstanding, please feel free to let me know.