none
Difference between save and/or publish tasks RRS feed

  • Question

  • What's difference between save and/or publish tasks from project professional 2013 onto project server 2013 integrated with TFS?

    For me its the same, if you exclude the integration with TFS in this scenario, that demands publishing, the tasks will be saved in project server anyway.

    Its that right? Thank you.

    Adauto

    Monday, December 16, 2013 8:50 PM

All replies

  • "Save" is the draft.  Other project managers with MS Project can see it but no one else can.  "Published" is the process where resources will get notified and a task will be assigned to them in Project Web Access (PWA) and for reporting purposes.  You are correct that the data is saved to the project server publishing just makes in consumable by the rest of the users.

       
    Monday, December 16, 2013 10:35 PM
  • hi Adauto,

    As a project owner when you create project plan from PWA or from Project Professional Once you save it means it will go to draft database and will be available to you in the server but you can not see it onto Project center.

    Once you Click on Publish then  project get publish and sits in publish database at the same time it will sync reporting database too. Once project get Publish then only all the team member who are associated with project will be able to see the project in project center including you .

    Also Users who are having either same RBS assigned to them or heigher to you will be able to see the project onto the project center.

    Also All the resource will get notified and task assignment will be assigned to team members.

    This is a same case for Project server with TFS integration and for normal .

    Main Usability of Save is :

    As a Project owner when you start Project scheduling you take time to finish it so everyday you can save it so that next day you can resume your work but in the middle of the scheduling work you wont want to show the data to your organization until- unless you give it final touch .Once you complete it then only publish it so that it would be available to team members.


    kirtesh

    • Proposed as answer by Kirteshtiw Tuesday, December 17, 2013 8:07 AM
    Tuesday, December 17, 2013 8:06 AM