none
RAS VPN server with remote DHCP

Question

• Hi everyone

I'm a network architect, not a windows person although get my hands dirty every now and then :). I'm being asked to deploy a new VPN solution  (easy) using windows 2016 RRAS (OMG!!).  

At first i didn't like the thought of using RRAS. Then i played a bit with it and got excited but now i feel like I've hit some strong design limitations so the excitement is gone and i'm back at being mad at MS.

I need to support up to 6000 VPN users.  Needless to say i don't want to have a single broadcast domain of 6000 users nor do i want to have countless RRAS servers.

So my main question is around IP addressing. I guess i have two options. Either I use multiple static IP address pools  or I use DHCP.  I've tried the first option, it seems to work but then I don't get any DHCP options apart of what is configured on the selected adaptor.  I want to have DHCP to assign addresses to my VPN users

Here is my setup. 

The RAS server (2016) has 2 NICs, one "outside" (10.103.226.201/24) with a default gateway , one "inside" (10.103.225.201/24) with statics routes (including a route to the DHCP server 10.103.224.254/24) defined at the OS level.

Topology is like this

DHCP Server  10.103.224.254 <->  Firewall  <-> (NIC1) VPN Server (NIC2) <-> Internet <-> VPN users 

My DHCP server does NOT sit in the same subnet as the RAS server. I've created a DHCP scope 10.103.227.0/24 on my DHCP server (which is also a DC, it's just a LAB) and i also created a Loopback adapter on the RAS server using an IP address in the scope (10.103.227.254)