Different behavior: running from command like (cmd.exe) vs. invoking from a .bat script RRS feed

• Question

• I'm sure this must be something simple, but being a powershell newbie I could sure use some help.

I have a server that's a domain controller.  I wrote a script (plain old cmd.exe, not powershell) that runs periodically, scans my IIS logs looking for evidences of brute force attacks, and if detected will update a GPO to add a firewall block for the offending IP address range.  Today I noticed something odd.   When the script runs, detects a problem, and attempts to update the GPO it issues a command via cmd.exe that looks like this:

powershell.exe New-NetFirewallRule -DisplayName xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -Direction Inbound -Profile Any -Action Block -InterfaceType Any -RemoteAddress xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx-yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy -PolicyStore <domain name>\<GPO name>

(Where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the beginning of the IP address range and yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy is the end of the range that's being blocked)

When this command runs from inside the script, it completes with this error status:

New-NetFirewallRule : The requested object could not be found.
    At line:1 char:1
    + New-NetFirewallRule -DisplayName xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx -Direction Inbound - ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (MSFT_NetFirewallRule:root/stand
       ardcimv2/MSFT_NetFirewallRule) [New-NetFirewallRule], CimException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : MI RESULT 6,New-NetFirewallRule

Here's the thing:  If I cut/paste that command into a running cmd.exe instance and run it, it completes just fine and does what I intended.   There must be something different about the two environments (running from a .bat file and running from the command line) that causes the two different results, but I have no idea what.

Can someone please enlighten me?

Thanks in advance,

Rob

Wednesday, January 3, 2018 10:00 PM

All replies

• powershell -?