Aero settings have been disabled RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a sys admin and I'm deploying Windows 7 in our domain with regular users restricted from doing certain things via GPO.  This GPO hasn't changed lately but users have lost all of the aero settings.  The most noticeable thing is that the taskbar preview is a list now, not a thumbnail but the transparency from each window has gone too. 

Personalization settings are disabled, users are forced to have blank wallpaper, the corporate screensaver, sounds off etc.  If I log on as an admin, I get the same issue but I can apply a theme and have everything aero working OK.  When I log back in as the non-admin I still have the same problem, so it's a user setting of some sort.

I've trawled the internet for ideas and ruled out any display settings, I've rerun the Windows Experience Index, tried the Aero troubleshooter, I've added a default theme to the GPO (it wasn't configured before), I've hunted through the registry and tried changing various keys but nothing seems to work.  I have a hunch that it might have been a driver update, but whatever has caused it, I need to get it change back and I need to be able to apply the change to all my users.

Any ideas anyone?

Thanks.

Friday, December 9, 2011 5:23 PM

Answers

• This turned out to be a combination of a new graphics driver and a group policy.  The GPO hadn't been a problem before but I ended up having to downgrade the driver AND remove the GPO.
    • Marked as answer by Mungus Thursday, January 12, 2012 9:23 AM
    Thursday, January 12, 2012 9:23 AM

All replies

• Hi,

First, I would like to confirm if this issue exists in non-domain environment.

Also, it seems this issue occurs to all of Windows 7 clients, how did you deploy Windows 7?

Please check if the following link can help:

Windows Aero Glass visual effects are not working or displayed

Alex Zhao

TechNet Community Support

Wednesday, December 14, 2011 9:11 AM
  • Hi Alex,