none
Resource capacity planning data RRS feed

• Question

• hello forum members,

we trying to migrated data from Clarity PPM to Project Server 2013. does anyone know if its possible to migrate resource capacity planning data into Project Server? So far, it seems to me that this is a calculated value in Project. Maybe there a way to migrate related fields? Which fields would that be ? ( sorry, i am new to project management and to Project Server)

tatiana

tatiana

Monday, August 4, 2014 7:37 PM

Answers

• Tatiana,

Project Server calculates Remaining Availability as follows. I recently had a client issue that involved this so here's what I found. All of this assumes looking at one resource, assuming available from and to dates are set to NA.

Base Capacity (Derived from the working time on the Resource's Calendar)

* Resource Max Units (Percent of their time available for Project work)

- SUM(Calendar Exceptions (Exception entries for non-working time that are manually entered) which only impact the designated time frame)

= Capacity

- SUM(Assigned Work (from project tasks, admin tasks))

= Remaining Availability

Example,

• Bob has a 40 hr 5 day calendar associated to his record. Base daily capacity is 8 hours.  Bob has a Max Unit setting of 75
    • Bob's Daily Capacity is 6 hours. (8*0.75)
    • Bob has 5 hours of project work and admin time for that day.
    • Bob's remaining availability is 1 hour.

Hope this helps.

Treb Gatte, Project MVP | Twitter | http://www.tumbleroad.com

Wednesday, August 6, 2014 7:57 PM

All replies

• Tatiana --

The field you would use is the Remaining Availability field.  In individual projects, you can add this field to the timephased grid on the right side of the Resource Usage view.  In Business Intelligence Center reports, I believe you can add the Remaining Availability field to the Row Fields drop area in the PivotTable.  Hope this helps.

Dale A. Howard [MVP]

Monday, August 4, 2014 7:52 PM