@corp.com appears in email address... RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,
    just so you know, I'm not an expert in Exchange Server Administration, but I hope that this is the place where experts live and somebody will be able to explain to me - in plain English - the meaning of domain name "corp.com".
    We have software that processes Outlook mailboxes and extracts metadata for mail items. Some of these items have <From> field populated with something like "some_name@corp.com".
    So, we need to know what this "corp.com" stands for as our clients are really concerned about that.
    By the way, when addresses extracted in X.400 format, they would read like this:
    some_name </O=CORP/OU=FIRST ADMINISTRATIVE GROUP/CN=RECIPIENTS/CN=some_name>

We know that organization name is not "corp" and domain is not "@corp.com" So, where this "corp.com" comes from?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
    Thursday, June 23, 2011 6:57 PM

Answers

• It's their Exchange org name for sure, but could also be their AD domain name and also will be one of their SMTP addresses configured in Exchange. It's possible that even within the same user you can see multiple SMTP addresses, the user could be specifying what SMTP address he wants to send from. Also if they have a complex topology doing SMTP namespace sharing with multiple forests you can see this behavior too as internal SMTPs are used for routing between their forests.
    James Chong MCITP | EA | EMA; MCSE | M+, S+ Security+, Project+, ITIL msexchangetips.blogspot.com
    • Marked as answer by Jerome Xiong Monday, July 4, 2011 3:10 AM
    Thursday, June 23, 2011 7:42 PM
  • Ok, with a little more info you've given, then it would be exch org name for the company that you're looking into.  As the PST file comes from your clients, the info your're extracting from the message using your software from the from field belongs to the clients PST, therefore you are extracting their information.