none
Summary Task Duration - Man Days? RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to Project so bear with me! I'll try to be as complete as possible!

Having just confused myself and tried a few sample projects I've ascertained that the duration at the top of a summary task is actually how long this task will take from start to finish, not, as I'd previously thought, a sum of the man days assigned to each task.

Conceptually it looks odd to have say three tasks taking 2 days, 15 days and 4 days adding to something other than 21 days. I've had occasions in practice and test where the summary task duration is both more and less than this sum.

Is it possible to add a man hours/days etc summary either in addition to or instead of the duration? It also seems to avoid confusion one can't remove this summary duration without it changing the task mode to manual, which seems less than ideal.

Any pointers much appreciated, I guess when we're all well versed with Excel this just looks plain odd (yet sort of makes sense!!)

Thursday, September 26, 2013 3:46 PM

All replies

• Hi Rob-R

Welcome to Project - and one of the 1st things you need to get your head around is the difference between work and duration.  If you insert the work column, you see you can enter the values in there (by default in hours, but you can change that in the options).  Personally I wouldn't change any values on Summary Tasks, I would leave them as AutoScheduled and let them do their jobs as Summary Tasks.

There are lots of good books and videos and other resources out there - obviously I'll direct you to mine which is aimed at newbies ;)

http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0790145369154.do

BR,  Ben.

Ben Howard [MVP] blog | web

Thursday, September 26, 2013 4:32 PM