none
MAP - Inventory and Assessment Wizard failed RRS feed

• Question

• HI,

sorry I am new to this. I tried to search this forum but I couldn't found the problem I have. I just installed the new MAP 4.0.2925.0.
    I started the inventory and assessment wizard. It looks like it starts...entering all the credentials and either an IP address or AD identification.
    But then when the wizard start collecting the information it stops with this pop-up. Saying : "An error occurred while collecting inventory data. You will need to close and rerun the wizard."
    I did a couple of times..even rebooted the machine where it is installed. I checked Remote registry service is running on the remote compouter I want to check....firewall is off.
    I am running this tool on a windows Xp workstation.

That is all I have ;-) any hint would be great

cheers

Bernd
    Monday, October 19, 2009 10:49 AM

All replies

• Bernd,

We sometimes see this error when the user ID used in the inventory collection does not have proper access to the SQL database that was installed by MAPS.  If you make sure that the ID your using on the Active Directory credential page of the wizard also has access to your database you should be able to continue successfully.  You can either add your AD user to the local administrators on your box, or use an ID that has both local admin rights and AD rights.

Let me know if this helps.

Thanks,

Eric

Monday, October 19, 2009 5:29 PM
  • Hi Eric,

thanks for the reply. I tried it with a couple of AD accounts. Both are local administrator and domain administrators. But still the same error when I run the wizard. I saw that when the error appears that I see one more error message : Task processor failed. But guess this indicates no access to the database. I tried now all possible combinations of user and domain I could think off.

Any other idea ?

thanks a lot

Bernd

Tuesday, October 20, 2009 7:05 AM
  • Huh…this is troublesome isn’t it?