none
DPM 2010 - Terrible backup performance of VMs on a EqualLogic PS6100X RRS feed

• Question

• I hope I'm not asking a redundant question, and I've found several "best practice" documents regarding the implementation of a SAN with DPM 2010. Additionally, I'm a newbie when it comes to SAN technology, so I'm learning as I go.

I finally got backups to occur for VMs that are stored on a SAN, but the backup is VERY slow; I believe it's even timing out. The way I understand that backups should occur is that the SAN takes the snapshot and DPM backs up the snapshot. I looked in the EqualLogic Group Manager, but it doesn't look like snapshots are happening. We defined the CHAP user during the Remote Setup Wizard, but the CHAP user is not defined in the Access tab of the volume. It is currently an asterisk (*) and CHAP authentication states: "not set". Does the CHAP user account need to be defined here? If so, why? Is it not enough to have it defined in the Remote Setup Wizard? If I do define this account here, will it improve backup performance on the DPM side?

I apologize in advance for my ignorance. I just want to understand :) Thanks!

Monday, July 30, 2012 3:50 PM

Answers

• So the NIC finally arrived and it was installed yesterday. After updating the NIC's firmware (that's pretty important), I tried configuring the iSCSI offload engine on the NIC, but couldn't figure it out. I've run out of time with trying to get this thing working correctly. Hence, I disabled the iSCSI offload engine for all of the ports. I made some additional adjustments to the NDIS settings beyond Flow Control and the Jumbo Packet value:

- Disabled Large Send Offload (IPv4 and IPv6)
    - Disabled TCP Connection Offload (IPv4 and IPv6)
    - Disabled TCP/UDP Checksum Offload (IPv4 and IPv6)
    - Disabled "Wake on..." stuff

After doing all that, I made sure everything was set up correctly in Microsoft iSCSI Initiator and confirmed that the Dell EqualLogic MPIO settings were still correct.