none
Getting full resource utilization RRS feed

• Question

• Hello:

I'm using MS Project 2010.  I have a project schedule where resources are assigned to all tasks, but I'm having trouble getting things to a point where 4 resources with the same skill set are working 8 hours a day, every workday.  As an example of some issues that I'm having, let's say I have resource A starting work on task A, which is 4 working hours on 6/7/2012.  Now I want resource A to begin working on task B, which is 4 hours on the same work day, after he is done with work on task A, to give me an 8 hour day for resource A on 6/7/2012. MS Project won't let me modify the start date of task B to begin on the same day as task A.  Whenever I try, the date keeps reverting to the next day, 6/8/2012.  I've tried with and without auto-schedule. I'm still a MS Project novice and this is driving me crazy. I am also daunted with having to do this for what will amount to 6 months worth for 5 resources. If I can get a technical solution on the the problem I'm having above (as to what settings I should have, how to get start dates to line up where they should, etc.) and also guidance on how to get full resource utilization. 

Thanks.

Saturday, June 2, 2012 7:26 PM

Answers

• Hi all,

I did receive the file; let me first say that it is a nicely construed proejct plan and that there are no impossbilities for leveling.

Hence, this is what I have answered to Peter's request for having all resource @ 100% all of the time:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Peter,

First, with the links and units you have introduced you cannot do any better; 100% al the time is simply not feasible. Mind you, there is nothing wrong with the tasks nor Leveling - technically it's OK.