none
Parameter to generate a log file to a script. RRS feed

• Question

• I am using below script. My script is not giving me consistent result.

May i ask, if I can use any statement with a script to get the log file generated so we could find out if my script is extracting exact user count or if it is failing i could get in log file which I could export via email every time it runs.

Any suggestions please? I am a rookie in writing power shell code so please tell me in detail. Thank you

Script I am using.

Import-Module ActiveDirectory

Get-ADUser -Filter { memberOf -RecursiveMatch "CN=status,OU=Test,OU=Users,DC=QA,DC=GU,DC=com" } -SearchBase "OU=Test,OU=Users,DC=QA,DC=GU,DC=com" -Properties cn, samaccountname, givenName, middlename, sn, mail | Foreach-Object {
        $group = ""
        Get-ADPrincipalGroupMembership $_.SamAccountName | Foreach-Object {
            if (($_.Name -eq "staff") -or ($_.Name -eq "student") -or ($_.Name -eq "faculty"))
            {
                $group += $_.Name + ","
            }
        }
        if ($group -eq "")
        {
            $group = "other"
        }
        else
        {
            $group = $group.Substring(0, $group.Length - 1)
        }    
        New-Object -TypeName PSObject -Property @{
            System_Role = "NONE"
        External_Person_Key = $_.cn
        User_ID = $_.samAccountName
        Passwd = "test1"
        FirstName = $_.givenName
        MiddleName = $_.middleName
        LastName = $_.sn
        Email = $_.mail
            Institution_Role = $group
        } | Select-Object System_Role, External_Person_Key, User_ID, Passwd, FirstName , MiddleName, LastName, Email, Role          
    } | convertto-csv -Delimiter '|'-notype |% {$_ -replace '"', ""} | out-file c:\BB.dat -Force -Encoding ascii

** Here is need to add statement to get log file***

TechNet

Thursday, June 26, 2014 3:03 PM

Answers