none
the group policy service failed the logon - Domain Admin unable to Login RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

Im having abit of a problem with some servers on our domain, they are all windows server 2008 R2. as of this morning when I attempt to login to any of the servers as a domain admin I get the following error message.

the group policy service failed the logon

Access Denied.

Im not aware of any changes on our network over the weekend, partly because it would have be me making them so I can discount a faulty update / config from someone else, but so far im unable to login to the majority of our windows 2008 R2 servers, but interestingly I can still login to the Active Directory Domain Controller which is windows 2008 R2, and all of my server 2003 systems.

Can anyone offer any help on what this problem might be and how to fix it? I have seen a lot of posts on the MS Forums about Windows Vista and 7 getting this and it involves re-creating a profile, but im lothe todo that on all of our servers right now as it doesnt seem to be profile specific (as some servers are happy to log me in others wont).

Kris

Monday, March 19, 2012 8:51 AM

All replies

• Can you login with any other domain ID or local ID apart from the domain admin which you are using earlier on the problem server.

http://blog.ronnypot.nl/?p=183

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/winserverGP/thread/9bc23129-568a-4c7d-9f94-419307a0d544/

Is both the server pointing to only local DNS server only and time is in sync with the DC. Also, can you post the relevant error event id with details.

Awinish Vishwakarma - MVP-DS

My Blog: awinish.wordpress.com

Disclaimer This posting is provided AS-IS with no warranties/guarantees and confers no rights.

Monday, March 19, 2012 9:05 AM
  • Hi all of our servers use an internal DNS server that is setup on our main domain controller, I dont have another admin account i can login with to see if they work or check the time on the servers..