Excel files containing embedded graphics fail to import into Power Query RRS feed

• Question

• Hello. We receive dozens of files from dozens of our business partners on a daily basis. Each of these files needs to be processed and consolidated into a daily revenue report.  Some of our business partners are sending us an Excel file that contains a graphic of their company logo embedded in the spreadsheet. This is preventing me from importing these files into PQ for processing with the following error:

DataFormat.Error: The input couldn't be recognized as a valid Excel document.
    Details:
        Binary

My temporary work-around is to have the end user open these files, then save them as .csv files.  However, this is time-consuming and we would prefer to allow the end user to simply save the files "as-is". 

I've searched for a solution online but I have been unable to find one that works for our situation. I've been using PQ for over a year now, but I'm not a programmer so I am not familiar with advanced concepts such as writing custom M code or functions, etc. Any ideas or suggestions would be deeply appreciated!

Tuesday, June 26, 2018 4:02 PM

Answers

• It has nothing to do with the image. The styles element in this Excel file is malformed when specifying number formats. Here's what it looks like:

<numFmts count="3">
      <numFmt numFmtId="164" formatCode="mm/dd/yyyy"/>
      <numFmt numFmtId="165" formatCode="_-* #,##0_-;-* #,##0_-;_-* &quot;-&quot;??_-;_-@_-"/>
      <numFmt numFmtId="166" formatCode="\$* #,##0.00"/>
      <numFmt numFmtId="165" formatCode="_-* #,##0_-;-* #,##0_-;_-* &quot;-&quot;??_-;_-@_-"/>
    </numFmts>

Do you know what software this customer is using to write the XLSX file? It seems unlikely to be Excel.

• Marked as answer by Rocket Dog Tuesday, July 3, 2018 12:51 PM
    Thursday, June 28, 2018 7:15 PM

All replies