none
MS-Project 2010: Adding Travel details of resource to visit customer RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    I am a beginner MS-Project 2010 user and attempting to prepare my first project plan in MS-Project rather than Excel. 
    Question: 
    We have a team of 5 people who visit onsite 2-3 time during implementation.

How can I add those business trips in MS-Project? Currently we are using excel to do this by using timeline calender horizantally

Red fields shows on site visit. 

Yellow fields shows resource in holiday and

other filling shows visit to some other location.

Blue fields show task completion. 

How can I implement this in MS-Project?

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated?

Regards

Wednesday, February 5, 2014 3:45 PM

Answers

• navStuttgarter,

I see Julie was kind enough to coordinate between your posts on the two forums. The screenshot is very small and difficult to read but it looks like you have a couple of tasks, 4 resources, some travel, non-working time (days off?), and some on-site time at client/customer locations. I'm not quite sure what the pink blocks of time represent, maybe they are other site visits? Are we to assume that the blue cells indicate that the "ef" and "gh" resources have finished the on-site visit the first 3 (4?) days of week 27?

Basically here's how you might set this up in Project. First, for each resource, create a resource calendar indicating when that resource will have non-working days (e.g. vacation). This is done by selecting each resource on the Resource Sheet and then going to Project/Properties group/Change working time icon. Create an exception for each off-time period. If their off-time is for the same day every week (e.g. Wednesday's off), then that can be done by hitting the Work Weeks tab and then the Details button. When assigning resources to tasks, Project will automatically take the resource's work calendar into account, unless you specifically tell it not to.