none
MS - Proj 2010, proj - training on processes, all subtasks are the same, my calendar view is horrible! RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone. I am very new to MSP, and I am in need of help. I am doing a project that has a bunch of Processes I will be training on, every process has the same set of sub tasks. When viewing this however my project looks horrid. Especially the calendar view. and i cant tell which process the tasks are under. I am copying the WBS here to see if anyone would mind helping me out.

Is it possible to upload my project somewhere on here to let people view it and suggest changes?

Friday, September 16, 2011 3:36 PM

Answers

• I usually use wording for a task which full describes it so that when resorted, filtered, or otherwise out of context to the summary grouping, it makes sense, e.g. "Client Bids: Create Documentation", "Client Completions: Create Documentation", etc.

I do notice that all your tasks are manually scheduled with no apparent logical progression of the tasks, e.g. predecessors, successors, etc. You are missing the real value of Project to let it compute your schedule.  If all you are doing is using it as a tool to produce a Gantt Chart and a Calendar, you will only probably be really disappointed at what it appears to you it can't do.

--rms www.rmschneider.com
    • Marked as answer by MDavis82 Friday, September 16, 2011 5:54 PM
    Friday, September 16, 2011 4:40 PM
  • Hi,

Calendar view would become clumsy when number of tasks increases; but as of now try following steps it would help to an extend :

1. Right click on Calendar view -> Bar Styles -> Summary - select Bar style as Line, select color for it.

2. Rght Clck -> Layout -> Radio button -> Select Attempt to fit as many tasks as possible.

3. Rght Clck -> Zoom -> reduce number of weeks to 2.

Adjust selections in Pt 2 and 3 as per your need. 

Sapna S
    Friday, September 16, 2011 4:44 PM