none
How to "for each" from table to populate data associated with function call within same query. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Power Query (and this forum), have searched around for several days now, and am now am reaching out to this community for assistance. I am wanting to basically "for each" from values in the rows of a column. Here is the code with the part I need help on described within:

let
        Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Filter"]}[Content],
        #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"MyFilter", type text}}),

Project = <Need code to pull all row values from the table "Project".  The table has one column with
    the header "MyFilter" in the first row. Each row value (not including header) should create a column in
    the next "WebData" call below where the function "fnQueryMy" will then populate the rows of each respective
    column.>
    WebData = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", ""&Project&"", each fnQueryMy(Project, [MyFilter])) in WebData

I am somewhat able to accomplish the above if I define "Project" as "Changed Type" and turn it into a function invoked from a separate query, however the problem with that method is that I have 720 rows in the "MyFilter" portion of the code and instead of ending up only having the added columns that I'm trying to accomplish with ""&Project&"" piece, I also end up with additional rows. So for example instead of ending up with 720 rows and 5 added columns (if there were 5 rows worth of values), I end up having to expand the data which in turn gives me 720*5 rows with the additional 5 columns.

I also wanted to add for further clarification that the values in the rows I am wanting to iterate through are text based and the number of rows will change over time. Example row values:

3-Way
    B2B
    Direct
    Straight Through Setup
    2.0 Testing

I hope all of this sense makes sense and any assistance would be greatly appreciated!