Missing Microsoft updates in SCCM RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to SCCM and WSUS administration and hopefully someone out there can help me out.  I have been having issues synchronizing my software updates with Microsoft.

It seems that most of the updates do indeed synchronize (and I have been able to deploy them out with no issues), however I have found a few updates, Project 2007 SP2 being one, that are not being downloaded.  Upon further digging, I logged into WSUS and noticed that these updates in question were classified as Not Approved.  I don’t know how these obtained this classification setting since I am set to automatically approve Service Packs and Office 2007 products. 

I approved them for install, again through WSUS, and re-synched SCCM; however the updates still do not appear in the update repository.  I think I am missing something obvious and have searched the log files and searched various message boards looking for answers.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My setup is:

SCCM 2007 and WSUS 3.0 SP1 running on a Windows Server 2003 SP2 machine

Monday, January 25, 2010 12:52 PM

Answers

• When the SUP role is installed on a site system, it takes control of WSUS and any configuration changes that you make within WSUS are overruled by SCCM or worse, screw up your updates.  I'm not sure what you mean by "I could always manually create a package for these updates (I hate to do this since this doesn’t solve the problem)."  In SCCM you have to manually create and packages containing updates you would like to push out.  Its not like WSUS where you approve an update and it is automatically pushed out.  How are you looking for this update within the SCCM console?  where are you looking?
    • Marked as answer by Zindous Wednesday, January 27, 2010 9:48 AM
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 4:15 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Have you install Software Update Point Role on SCCM Server ?

Look this : http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb632674.aspx