Accessibility in Windows SteadyState RRS feed

• Question

•  Hello all,
     I have a question about Windows SteadyState in terms of accessibility.  I am a computer tech for a local computer store in my area and have the challenge of configuring a few terminals for free internet access within the store.  My employer and I both agree that making sure that users cannot change the state of these computers is vital, and a friend told me about this wonderful tool.  However before I dive in with two feet I have a couple questions about accessibility, as I am blind, or visually impaired and will need to be able to administer these systems without someone elses assistance.  So once Windows SteadyState is installed, how does one log in to it?  Is it accessible from the standard Windows Login screen and its console application actually runs in Windows when the user is logged in as admin?  Or is it something which is only configurable during the computers start-up process and thus loads the console before Windows itself loads?  I ask because my screen reader software i use only runs from Windows, so either from the Windows login screen or from the desktop itself when Windows applications can be called or launched.  Therefore if this application loads before Windows itself such as a boot manager than I will have a serious problem using it, however if it can be installed and administered from within Windows under the admin account for the machine, I should be all set.  If anyone can shed some light on this subject for me it would be much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Cory
    Thursday, April 23, 2009 9:33 AM

Answers

• Dear Cory,