none
Synchronize task from another project RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I have a question, may someone of you experts can help me.

I have a summary schedule with main tasks from other subschedules.

I would like to synchronize the task start, end and duration with the subtasks, that I don't need to do the same job twice if I have a change in the subschedule.

I hope it is clear what I am searching for and it would be really nice if someone can help me.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Tobias

Friday, October 12, 2012 7:17 AM

Answers

• Tobias,

Although paste links can do what you want, they are very susceptible to corruption. I wouldn't recommend it.

What you describe could better be created with a dynamic master file wherein project A, B, and C are inserted as subproject into the master. This structure is still prone to corruption but not as much as paste links. With a dynamic master you can filter, group or otherwise organize the view to create the overview.

An even better approach is to create a static master which can also be filtered, grouped or organized to create the overview. It is created in the same way as a dynamic master (i.e. Project/Subprojects) except the "link to project" option in the Insert Project window is unchecked. The disadvantage of a static master is that the master file is a completely separate file and has no dynamic links to the subproject files. The big advantage of a static master is that it is NOT prone to corruption.

John

• Marked as answer by der_toby Thursday, November 22, 2012 7:23 AM
    Tuesday, November 13, 2012 3:55 PM

All replies

• I hope I understood the question correctly - you have a Summary Task which have tasks from some other schedule, is it a Master Project or a Cross linked Project?