Why powershell? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I might be totally wrong but I am not able to answer few questions, why powershell and why not use Vbscripts?

I might be upsetting few Powershell gurus and fanatics by stating that I did not find any **WOW!!** factor in powershell.

I am totally new to powershell and I was kind of forced to learn this language as a media hype and job requirements. After on a month of reading the manuals and writing few scripts ( still Struggling ) I really did not find powershell as extremly easy compared to VBScripts, as many have mentioned "very easy compared to vb". From my exprience VBScripts does pretty much every thing powershell can do. please correct me if ia m wrong.

When few of my colleague asked me why powershell?, only thing i can think of was it can use .net features apart from that i dont find powershell as more powerful or any different to VBscript. I wish microsft had considered enhance vbscript rather than developing a new language.

Any suggestiions from gurus ? 

• Changed type Vincent Hu Monday, July 19, 2010 3:18 AM
    • Changed type Vincent Hu Monday, July 19, 2010 3:19 AM
    Monday, July 19, 2010 12:45 AM

All replies

• PowerShell remoting was a big one for me. I've written VBScripts in the past that went out and connected to thousands of computers, one-by-one, to perform some minor configuration change. With fan-out remoting, it's very easy to perform actions on dozens of computers in parallel.