none
Deleting Project 2010 Views from EGT and View Bar RRS feed

• Question

• I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this issue or if I am doing something wrong?  I've been using MS Project and Project Server since 2002.  We always create custom views and remove/add views to the View Bar in the client.  However, with 2010, we are finding it impossible to delete and/or remove views - either they are unavailable for deletion - even if we are not currently on that view  i.e. I'm on the Resource Sheet view and I'm trying to delete a custom view titled "Task Tracking,' in the Organizer.   This is one issue.

Another issue is the View Bar - when I remove a view from the View Bar, it always re-appears.  It reappears, as well as several other out-of-the-box views, such as the Network Diagram, Task Form, etc. on the View Bar.  I even remove them from the local global and the Project templates and they STILL re-appear.

As far as truly deleting a view, even when I do happen to delete a view permanently from the Organizer, it will still reappear in the View Tab on the Ribbon. Again, even when I remove it from my local global and/or the project template, it's still there.

I never create new views directly in the EGT, I always create them locally and copy through the organizer.  I just have never had so many issues with Views.

Can someone please help!? 

Much thanks!

Thursday, August 5, 2010 9:32 PM

Answers

• michthom2522 --

I think it goes without saying that if you want to delete enterprise views, you must open the Enterprise Global file first and then use the Organizer dialog to delete the view, along with any custom table, filter, or group you created and included in the view.  You are doing the deleting this way, yes?  And when you delete, are you deleting enterprise views that you added to the Enterprise Global file, or are you deleting local views you created and copied to your local Global file?  Let us know on this one.