none
Add laptop to particular group in AD RRS feed

• Question

• I want to create a script which monitors AD for new Laptop addition and whenever there is addition of laptop in AD it should be added to particular group. I know how to manually add Laptop in group with batch when i have the hostname of laptop. what i want is a script which monitors AD for new entries in Laptop and add it automatically to the required group like say xyz group. I have searched all over net but don't understand scripts much as I am new to AD and scripting.

\m/

Wednesday, February 5, 2014 7:16 AM

Answers

• Hi Khushboopatel,

sry, my error. This would probably happen when it encounters a laptop OU that has no new Laptops. here's a small revision that hopefully circumvents that particular problem:

# Prepare a bit
    $group = Get-ADGroup "gIN-WIFI-Laptops"
    $filter = "*" + $group.DistinguishedName + "*"

# Stuff all computers in a laptop-OU that are not yet group-members into this variable
    $comp = @()

# Iterate over all OUs and fill comp
    Get-ADOrganizationalUnit -Filter {Name -like "*laptop*"} | ForEach {
    	$comp += Get-ADComputer -Filter {memberof -notlike $filter} -Searchbase $_.DistinguishedName -ErrorAction 'SilentlyContinue'	
    }

# If any new Laptops were found, add them
    if ($comp.Length -gt 0){$group | Add-ADGroupMember -Members $comp}

What this does, is search for all new Laptops and only adds them all at the final steps. That way, computers that have already been added won't be a problem and OUs that have no computers yet will not have any action applied to them.

What's more, this way you do not execute a write command when there is no need (when no new Laptop has been added at all, all it does is read).

Cheers,
    Fred

There's no place like 127.0.0.1

• Marked as answer by KhushbooPatel Monday, February 10, 2014 3:49 AM
    Thursday, February 6, 2014 1:01 PM
  • Tis may work even better:

$group=Get-ADGroup gIN-WIFI-Laptops